improving life, KNOWLEDGE  & uNDERSTANDING

                        THROUGH MENTAL HEALTH

LINKS & RESOURCES


MENTAL HEALTH LINKS

The following links are listed to provide you with additional online mental health care information and counseling resources.

Addiction and Recovery

The Addiction Recovery Guide  -   http://www.addictionrecoveryguide.org 
Adult Children of Alcoholics  -  http://www.adultchildren.org  
Alcoholics Anonymous  -      http://www.aa.org  
Facts About Addictions  -  http://www.well.com/user/woa/ 
Internet Addiction - http://www.netaddiction.com
Recovery Resources - http://www.recoverybroadcastnetwork.net
Sexual Addiction -  http://www.medicinenet.com/sexual_addiction/article.htm
Video Game Addiction - http://www.video-game-addiction.org

Anxiety Disorders

Anxiety Disorders Association of America - http://www.adaa.org
National Center for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) - http://www.ptsd.va.gov
Social Anxiety Association - http://www.socialphobia.org

Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

Children and Adults with ADD/ADHD (CHADD)  -  http://chadd.org
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry - http://www.aacap.org
Attention Decifit Disorder Association - http://www.add.org
Attention Deficit Disorder Resource - http://w3.addresources.org

Child Abuse

Chlid Abuse Hotline California -  (800) 540-4000
Child Abuse Information - http://www.childhelp.org
Department of Children and Family Services - http://dcfs.co.la.ca.us/contactus/childabuse.html

Children, Adolescents and Parenting

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - http://www.aacap.org
American Psychological Association - http://www.apa.org/topics/children/index.aspx
Positive Parenting - http://www.positiveparenting.com

Chronic Fatigue / Illness

Chronic Illness Help Center (APA) - http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/chronic.aspx
Healing Well - http://www.healingwell.com

Depression

Basic Information / Depression - http://www.realage.com/soothe-stress/mind-and-mood/depression-symptoms-signs
Depression Screening Quiz - http://www.depression-screening.org/depression_screen.cfm

Developmental Disorders / Special Needs

California Children's Services (CCS) - (800) 288-4584
Harbor Regional Center - Torrance, CA (310) 540-1711

Diabetes

www.eatright.org/Public

Diagnosis

DSM IV TR - www.behavenet.com

Domestic Violence

1736 Family Crisis Center - South Bay - (310) 379-3620
City of Redondo Beach Domestic Violence Team - (310) 379-2477 x1-2366
Domestic Violence Hotline - (800) 799-7233
Elder/Adult Abuse Hotline - (800) 992-1660
Family Resources - Dial 2-1-1
Long Beach Women's Shelter - (562) 437-4663
National Domestic Violence Hotline - http://www.thehotline.org
Rainbow Services - San Pedro - (310) 547-9343
Rape Crisis Hotline - (310) 392-8381
Southern California Domestic Violence Hotline - (800) 978-3600

Eating Disorders

National Eating Disorder Association - http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org
Something Fishy, Info on Eating Disorders (SFWEB) - http://www.something-fishy.org
Eat Right - http://www.eatright.org

General Information

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - http://www.aacap.org
American Psychological Association Help Center - http://www.apa.org/helpcenter.index.aspx
The Help Guide - http://www.helpguide.org
Mental Health 24 Hour Hotline - (800) 854-7771
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) - http://www.nami.org
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) - http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/index.shtml
Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles - (800) 433-6251
Prenatal Care / Family Planning - Harbor UCLA 310-222-3723
Psych Central - http://psychcentral.com

Grief, Loss and Bereavement

Grief Net - http://www.griefnet.org
The Help Guide - http://www.helpguide.org/mental/grief_loss.htm

Medications

www.behave.net

Psychiatric Emergency Team (PET)

911
(800) 854-7771

Suicide Awareness and Hotlines

Suicide Awareness - http://www.save.org
Suicide Prevention  http://suicidepreventionlifeline.org
Thinking of Suicide: READ THIS FIRST - http://www.metanoia.org/suicide/

Support and Other Resources

Help Finding Support for Almost Any Issue - http://www.nmha.org/go/find_support_group

Low Fee Counseling Services in the Community:


Beach Cities Health District
514 N. Prospect Avenue, First Floor
Redondo Beach, CA 90277
(310) 414-2090
http://bchd.org

Catholic Counseling Services
461 West 6th Street #202
San Pedro, CA
(562) 862-5750

Coastal Asian Mental Health Clinic
14112 S. Kingsley Drive
Gardena, CA
(310) 217-7331

DMH Harbor UCLA Mental Health Clinic
1000 W. Carson Street
Torrance, CA 90501
(310) 222-1648

Jewish Family Services - South Bay
23430 Hawtorne Blvd. #125
Torrance, CA 90505
(310) 761-8816

22410 Palos Verdes Blvd.
Torrance, CA
(310) 540-6646

Long Beach Mental Health
240 E 20th Street
Long Beach, CA
(562)  599-9280

Long Beach Mental Health Center
1975 Long Beach Blvd.
Long Beach, CA
(562) 599-3186

Manhattan Beach Community Counseling
303 S. Peck Avenue
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
(310) 798-3260
http://www.mbccounseling.org

Richstone Family Center
13634 Cordary Avenue
Hawthorne, CA 90710
(310) 970-1921 x224
http://www.richstonefamily.org 

The Saturday Center
3201 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 201
Santa Monica, CA 90403
(310) 829-7997
http://www.saturdaycenter.org

South Bay Center For Counseling
360 Sepulveda Blvd. Suite 2075
El Segundo, CA
(310) 414-2090

South Bay Mental Health Center
2311 W. El Segundo Blvd.
Hawthorne, CA
(323) 241-6730

South Bay Youth Project - Counseling

Child Guidance
1617 Cravens Avenue
Torrance, CA 90501
(310) 328-0855
childguidance@sbchc.com

Manhattan Beach - SBY Project
320 Knob Hill Avenue
Redondo Beach, CA  90277
(310) 316-0183

South Bay Childrens Health Center
401 S. Camino Real
Redondo Beach, CA 90277
(310) 316-0183
info@sbchc.com

Southern California Counseling Center
5615 W. Pico Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90019
(323) 937-1344
http://www.sccc-la.org

Torrance- South Bay YMCA
2900 West Sepulveda Blvd.
Torrance, CA
(310) 325-5885 x 2704

If you would like information on a resource that is not listed here.  I may be able to assist you in finding one that may
be helpful to you.


Content copyright 2018. Deana Straus. All rights reserved